Access Denied on Start-DscConfig

This topic contains 2 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by Profile photo of Joe Joe 1 year, 6 months ago.

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author
    Profile photo of Joe

Hi all,

I'm a dev and I've been jazzed by the DSC and I'm trying to getting a simple DSC push working, but running into an error.

I spun up 2 Windows Server 2012 R2 VMs in the cloud and on the target I changed the firewall restriction on the WRM rule to all IPs (its just for testing). Then on the other VM I was able to validate this by running ([b]Test-WSMan -ComputerName[/b]) and getting a valid response. I then generated the mof files and executed "[b]Start-DscConfiguration -wait -verbose -path .\WebSiteConfig[/b]". That failed with the error below:

[blockquote]VERBOSE: Perform operation 'Invoke CimMethod' with following parameters, "methodName' =
    SendConfigurationApply,'className' = MSFT_DSCLocalConfigurationManager,'namespaceName' =
    Access is denied.
    + CategoryInfo : PermissionDenied: [root/Microsoft/...gurationManager:String] [], CimException
    + FullyQualifiedErrorId : HRESULT 0x80070005
    + PSComputerName :

VERBOSE: Operation 'Invoke CimMethod' complete.
    VERBOSE: Time taken for configuration job to complete is 0.032 seconds

I made sure that I was running the shell as Administrator as still no go. After reading up some more, I ran a cim command ([b]Get-CimClass -ComputerName -ClassName Win32_Process[/b]) to see if that works and that too failed

Get-CimClass : Access is denied.
    At line:1 char:1
    + Get-CimClass -ComputerName -ClassName Win32_Process
    + ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    + CategoryInfo : PermissionDenied: (root\cimv2:Win32_Process:String) [Get-CimClass], CimException
    + FullyQualifiedErrorId : HRESULT 0x80070005,Microsoft.Management.Infrastructure.CimCmdlets.GetCimClassCommand
    + PSComputerName :