Add proxyAddresses Attribute in AD for 3 possible mail domains

This topic contains 10 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by Profile photo of Jason Jason 1 month, 4 weeks ago.

• Author
    Profile photo of Jason
    Jason
    Participant

I'm new to PowerShell and I'm trying to add three proxyAddresses to each of my AD users. There are 3 domains that are used for email and each user uses one of those 3 domains as their SMTP: address and the other two need to be smtp: addresses. I was able to populate all of my AD users with our legacy email domains (with another script that someone helped me with), but I'm having trouble with having a script recognize the user's existing SMTP: address as "firstname.lastname@domain1.com" and adding the other two as smtp:firstname.lastname@domain2.com. If everyone used the same SMTP: domain I could do it, but having to look at the user's current SMTP:, not touching it, and adding the other two domains as smtp: is really confusing me.

Could someone help me with a script for this, please?

Hi

How about you take proxyAddresses with -clike 'SMTP:*' to string and then split it so you got the firstname.lastname. Then you could use that as base and add those domains to end of it and add prefix smtp: and set it with set-aduser -add @{proxyaddresses=$secondDomain,$thirdDomain}?

Jake

Profile photo of Jason
      Jason
      Participant

I'm not sure I follow, but maybe I can make this complicated. I could also use a script that just looks for SMTP:firstname.lastname@domain1.com and if it exists in a user's proxyAddresses, add smtp:firstname.lastname@domain2.com, smtp:firstname.lastname@domain3.com. Then I could just change the values in the script so that it looks for SMTP:firstname.lastname@domain2.com...and if this exists, then adds smtp:...@domain1.com, smtp:....domain3.com. I'm just not strong enough in PowerShell yet to code that...and I'm not finding anything online yet.

Hi