Additions to fix script due to Input Format Changes

This topic contains 2 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by  J Marquis 4 days, 2 hours ago.

• Author

J Marquis
    Participant

I am a novice at programing and Powershell, so I am looking for some help to modify my current code.

I get an email report that used to come in the format of "Country Date/Time User" with multiple lines. The "User" field could contain one or many email addresses seperated by a space (example below). Once I highlighted and copied all of the lines, I would run the included script and it would accept input from the clipboard and then would lookup the users in our Active Directory.

France Fri Apr 6 04:05:54 2018 Ga01@domain.com Gr01@domain.com He01@domain.com Je01@domain.com br01@domain.com

The report format has changed and now comes as "Country Date/Time User" and then subsequent users are on their own line. I need to fix the routine so it will look for the additional users in the new format.

France Fri Apr 6 04:05:54 2018 Ga01@domain.com
    Gr01@domain.com
    He01@domain.com
    Je01@domain.com
    br01@domain.com

#      Import from clipboard to $importUsers
            $importUsers = Get-Clipboard

$Array1 = @()
    $Array2 = @()
    $Array3 = @()

foreach ($row in $importUsers) { 
        if ($row -eq ''){ break}     # incase last line of paste is blank
        $cnt = 0
        $country = $row.Split("`t")[0]
        $userField = $row.Split("`t")[2]
        $user = $userField.split(" ")
        $cnt = $user.count
        for ($i = 0; $i -lt $cnt) {
            $userSamAccount = $user[$i].split("@")[0]
            $userInfo = get-aduser $userSamAccount
            $userSamAccount  # Remove "#" for troubleshooting

if ($userInfo -like "*OU=QMM_CO1_Objects*" -eq $True) {
                write-host $user[$i].split("@")[0] "is a CO1 user" 
                $CO1user = $user[$i].split("@")[0]
                $record = New-Object PSObject