Any recommendations on a good IDE or editor for PowerShell.

This topic contains 11 replies, has 6 voices, and was last updated by  Mark Prior 5 months, 1 week ago.

• Author

skankykiwi
    Participant

Hey.

I'm new to the PowerShell game... I'm getting there and having fun over the past few weeks. However after spending the last few years using Eclipse I'm finding the Windows Powershell ISE a little bit clunky.

I've searched the net looking but given I'm part of this forum I thought I'd put it out there. Has anyone got any recommendations on a good IDE or editor for PowerShell?

I've spotted the two following as popular.

1: VS code
    2: Windows Powershell ISE on steroids.

Any others (That don't cost the earth) ?

Thanks in advance.

Matt.

Don Jones
    Keymaster

VS Code with the PowerShell plugin is the official answer, and it's a good one.

Don Jones
    Keymaster

I'll mention that PowerShell Studio is well written and full featured. It does cost, but I'm accustomed to paying for pro tools for my trade. It's far less than a mortgage payment so I wouldn't classify it as costing the earth.

skankykiwi
      Participant

Hey thanks Don... See my reply below.

Liam Kemp
    Participant

I completely agree with Don here.

If you are just getting started, VSCode, especially the last few updates is a really solid option for PowerShell, and a host of other things. It lacks a few things from the ISE, such as Cmdlet search (I've never used this feature). I use VSCode every day for PowerShell.

PowerShell Studio from Sapien is a much closer solution to eclipse and other full fledged IDE's, and while it does come at a cost, it packs a lot of features that VSCode and the ISE don't have. Depending on your needs down the track, it could definitely be worth the money.

skankykiwi
    Participant

Hey thanks Don... I have taken steroids for the day... Wow what a difference... I will take your advise and look at VS Code with the PowerShell plugin shortly.