Appending exported data to file

This topic contains 5 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by  Rob Simmers 2 years, 3 months ago.

• Author

Brandy Davis
    Participant

I am very new to PowerShell and starting to learn. I found a script and modified it as follows below. I am trying to export the contact list of several users from an SQL database to an XML file using dbimpexp, It is working but on my "for each" statement the file gets overwritten every time it process a new user. How could I append to the file while it loops through all the users.

$inputlist = "C:\users.txt"
    $outputresultsfile = "C:\alluserscontacts.xml"
    $sqlserver = "sql01"
    $DBImpExp = "D:\Office Communication Server 2007 R2\Support\dbimpexp.exe"
    $userlist = Get-Content $inputlist

ForEach ($user in $userlist) {
    $output = & DBImpExp /hrxmlfile:$outputresultsfile /sqlserver:$sqlserver /user:$user

}

Tim Pringle
    Participant

Hi Brandy,

I've never used dbimpexp.exe before, so can't comment on how it operates. However, it might be possible to get round by changing the filename for every user, and then grouping the information together after the last export has happened.

I'm thinking along the lines of something like this :

ForEach ($user in $userlist) {
    $output = & DBImpExp /hrxmlfile:$user.xml /sqlserver:$sqlserver /user:$user
    }

Is it possible for you to post how the xml looks, so I can try and help you with joining the data together?

Brandy Davis
    Participant

Hi Tim,