Assistance with changing local security policy

Welcome Forums General PowerShell Q&A Assistance with changing local security policy

Viewing 5 reply threads
  • Author
      Participant
      Topics: 1
      Replies: 2

What is the best method for changing the local security policy on a PC via powershell

I need to update the membership for local policies>user rights assignment>access this computer from the network via powershell but I am having issues determining the best way to accomplish this.

I am fairly new to powershell so please forgive me if I am not familiar with more advance commands and scripting.

Thanks

Participant
      Topics: 5
      Replies: 170
      Helping Hand

I don’t think there is a native PowerShell way to do this.  You can however use secedit in PowerShell.  Someone may have written a secedit wrapper for PowerShell.  You might want to check the PowerShell gallery.

Participant

I don’t think there is a native PowerShell way to do this. You can however use secedit in PowerShell. Someone may have written a secedit wrapper for PowerShell. You might want to check the PowerShell gallery.

That’s what I had been seeing but wanted to make sure. I am not really following how to make the one simple change with secedit.

I found the ntrights.exe app from Server 2003 resource kit that will make the change fairly simply but not really sure about using the deprecated tool in my production environment.

• This reply was modified 1 week, 6 days ago by kordra06.
      Participant
      Topics: 9
      Replies: 676
      Helping Hand
      Participant
      Topics: 2
      Replies: 6

https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/windows-server/administration/windows-commands/secedit

Secedit is probably one of the best ways to do this, otherwise you are stacking piles of extra “stuff” onto your project. Adding a mansion on top of your sailboat.