Can anyone help a newb?

Welcome Forums General PowerShell Q&A Can anyone help a newb?

This topic contains 8 replies, has 4 voices, and was last updated by

Participant
1 week, 4 days ago.

• Author

Participant
    Topics: 1
    Replies: 4

Im trying to get some data from a CSV file. If I run the following, specifying name of VM, I get the output I need.

Get-Content '.\Collect-IOPS – 1 hour-5-6pm.csv' | ConvertFrom-Csv | Where {$_.VM -eq "wsus01"} | Measure-Object "WriteIOPS" -Average -Sum -Maximum -Minimum

If I try and do a for each loop to get all unique servernames, and perform this task on all, Im getting no output. But it appears to be running based on CPU stats

Apologies in advance, im very new to powershell. Its probably something very simple but its eluding me today!

Loop example is here

$rawcsv=Get-Content '.\Collect-IOPS – 1 hour-5-6pm.csv' | ConvertFrom-Csv
    $uniquenames=Get-Content '.\Collect-IOPS – 1 hour-5-6pm.csv' | ConvertFrom-Csv | Select VM | Sort-Object -property VM -unique
    foreach ($v in $uniquenames)
    {
    $obj= $rawcsv | Where {$_.VM -eq $v}
    echo $obj
    }

Participant
    Topics: 2
    Replies: 483
    Helping Hand

Couple things to point out here...

First, no need to Get-Content | ConvertFrom-Csv — that's what Import-Csv is for. 🙂

If I understand you correctly, you're just looking to get the entries for each unique VM in the table and measure the results for that specific VM? I'd say this is a classic use case for Group-Object. This cmdlet essentially groups multiple objects in a dataset that share the same property into a single result object that you can operate on.

Using this, you can group records by the VM name, and then do the measure on each group. Then, I'd probably want to create an output object with all the details, including VM name and all the statistics you're collecting, so that the output is crystal clear.

Something like the following, I suppose?

Participant
      Topics: 2
      Replies: 483