Can my code be more compact,I am still learning PS,Please Guide me on Logging.

This topic contains 5 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by Profile photo of Matt McNabb Matt McNabb 2 years ago.

• Author
    Profile photo of Sikander Mirza
    Sikander Mirza
    Participant

Hi,
    I have started learning PS few months back, i don't have any prior scripting experience.
    I just have the knowledge of Programming basics.I started with Technet/scriptcenter recorded
    webcasts, Don Jones all PS tutorials available on YouTube, MVA JumpStarts and i also follow
    DJones Ebooks PS in a month of lunches and PS ToolMaking in a ....,
    After months of practice i feel good with the ps cmdlets and its syntax but where scripting is
    concerned i am lost, don't know the approach, the thought process, the script which i have
    uploaded is totaly written by me in PS ISE, the requirement is to get bios,processor,ip,memory,
    drive,process,info, i want a log to be created each time i run it.
    My question is please have a look on the code and suggest is this a good approch or can the code
    be more compact, and after each Cmdlet instead of writing output can't we have only one line to
    log all the info?
    This may not be a challenging question to you but i need proper guidance.
    and a request to Don Jones , Sir please record a free scripting tutorial, and it should be a senario
    based such as take a fictious company and some fictious requirements like getting the ipaddress,
    dns,domain info and many other things and logging it to a text file, the how to approach, how to start
    the script from the scratch etc, how the thought process should be.
    It will be a great help for the PS Beginners like me and many others.
    Thanks,
    Sikander Mirza.

Profile photo of Matt McNabb
    Matt McNabb
    Participant