Can my script be editted to exclude certain folders?

This topic contains 9 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by  Chris 3 months, 3 weeks ago.

• Author

Benjamin Crew
    Participant
    # Temp File Deleter
    # Deletes temp files on Remote PC's
    # Benjamin Crew 27/06/2017

cd $HOME

Invoke-Command -ComputerName "xxxxxxx" -ScriptBlock {

Set-Location "C:\Windows\Temp"
    Remove-Item "*" -Force -Recurse -ErrorAction SilentlyContinue

Set-Location "C:\Users"
    Remove-Item ".\*\AppData\Local\Temp" -Force -Recurse -ErrorAction SilentlyContinue

}

Write-Host "Script Complete." -ForegroundColor Cyan

Hi all,

I'm brand new to Powershell. I'm on chapter 3 of 'Powershell in a month of lunches', and this is the first script I've created.
    It's used to make my life on the Service Desk (albeit i'll only be here a few more weeks before starting a new role) a little easier.

I know it's very simple, but if anybody has any questions about it, then please let me know.

My question is as follows:

We have a specific format for usernames on our domain. "123456" is an example. 6 characters, all numeric.
    My script runs on all user profiles in C:\Users, and I'm trying to find a way to exclude certain folders from the script. For instance, in C:\Users, we have folders named 'Administrator', 'Default' and 'Public'.

My first thought was to get rid of the * in ".\*\AppData\Local\Temp", and replace it with '$$$$$$', which would work I guess, but public falls into that category.

I'm sure there is a better way for me to exclude specific folders. Can anybody assist?