Capturing output best way

This topic contains 0 replies, has 1 voice, and was last updated by  Forums Archives 5 years, 9 months ago.

• Author

by kamcknig at 2012-09-20 08:56:35

I'm brand new to PowerShell but I've figured out a lot on my own. Though maybe it doesn't look pretty haha. I have a script that I'm using for mobile development using Gideros Mobile.

Here is what it does.
    1. Checks for an environment variable GIDEROS_HOME
    2. Checks to make sure Gideros Studio is closed, and asks to close it if it's not.
    3. Starts up the Gideros Player exe
    4. Runs a process called gdrbridge to see if gdrdaemon (gdrdaemon is woken up and controlled by gdrbridge) is connected to the Gideros Player (if you can help me optimize this that would be great)
    5. Once connected, runs gdrbridge on a project file to run my project in the Gideros Player

I could use help with step 4, in case there is a better way than how I'm doing it, that's the function "connectGdrDaemon" in my code. B

But my real questions is after all this is done, gdrbridge has a parameter i can pass called "getlog" which will print the output from gdrbridge. So in my project I can use print() statements and "gdrbridge getlog" will print all messages since the last time getlog was called. How can I get the output from gdrbridge getlog and poll it. I'd like to send it to the console output if I can. If not then to a file and tail the file if possible. I dont mind having some of this in a separate script file if need be or keeping it all in this one script file. But I have no clue about how to do it. All the googling I've done on capture output hasn't helped in the least!

Here is my current script:

param(
    [Parameter(Position=0, Mandatory=$true)]
    [String]$projectPath
    )

#make sure path doesnt start or end with quotes, this will happen if user trys to run without entering path