Change keywords in txt file with names taken from a txt file

Welcome Forums General PowerShell Q&A Change keywords in txt file with names taken from a txt file

Viewing 10 reply threads
  • Author
      Participant
      Topics: 1
      Replies: 4

Hi guys. As the title says i’m trying to alter text in a .txt file with names taken from another .txt file.  I have zero experience using powershell but so far this is what i’m doing.

I’m gathering the names of folders in a directory and outputting to a .txt file like this

Get-ChildItem .\myfolder\ | ForEach-Object { $_.Name } > .\names.txt

And then I want to search for keywords in another .txt file called placeholder.txt and replace keywords  (TEST-1, TEST-2, etc) with the names of the folders in names.txt. I think I want to do something like this

$filename = Get-Content “.\placeholder.txt”
      $Keys = @(“TEST-1″,”TEST-2″,”TEST-3… TEST-50, etc.”)
      ForEach ($Key in $Keys) {

}

But I don’t know where to go from here and how to make the script read from the names.txt file and then find and replace the keywords.

Is there some way I can do this?

Participant
      Topics: 0
      Replies: 81
      Helping Hand

How will you match up a keyword with a folder name, i.e. what folder does TEST-1 match?

Participant

I thought the first name in the names.txt file would be matched with the first keyword but it’s not really important to match them, only that each keyword is replaced by one folder name.

Participant
      Helping Hand

You can do something like the following:

The idea is you have the same number of folders, keys, and items in placeholder.txt. To make things easier, you can convert all of those contents to arrays and access the same index from each array as you iterate.

The idea is that

Participant