CI/CD build pipeline with VSTS

This topic contains 5 replies, has 4 voices, and was last updated by  Chris Gardner 1 week, 5 days ago.

• Author

Kevin Greer
    Participant

I'm very new to the idea of CI/CD using VSTS. I am also very new to Git source control. I have developed a couple of modules and collaborate with a colleague but up until now we just shared files. We publish our modules to a network share and set that location as a repository for our clients. I did some research and looked at examples for setting up an automated build and deployment process using VSTS, but I'm not grasping the process completely. My Git repos in VSTS are PS modules and I want the build process to update the module version and run publish-module to a network share. Is anyone deploying modules through VSTS who can point me in the right direction?

Don Jones
    Keymaster

Chris Gardner
    Participant

I use it quite a lot and publish a few modules from it to our internal repos (using ProGet as our nuget server). We mostly handle version updates manually but I'm transitioning to using Jaykul's Configuration module as it has a very nice Update-Metadata function that will update version numbers very easily without screwing with the rest of the file.

I'd strongly suggest breaking this process into two stages, you've got a build which does; the version number changing, pester tests, PSSA, code signing (at least on master), and anything else you want to do (we add in some checking against our coding guidelines here), then packages it all up into a build artifact (containing just the psd1, psm1 and any other required files but not tests etc).