configuration after reboot start before services

Welcome Forums DSC (Desired State Configuration) configuration after reboot start before services

This topic contains 6 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by

Participant
6 months ago.

• Author

Participant

Hi,
    I am new to DSC, and I am trying to install our product on server using DSC.
    The installation has 2 phases, between the phases should be reboot.
    I succeeded to do it, but it looks like the second phase start before all the services are up, the process can't reach a sheared directory in the computer in a UNC.

is there solution to that, or should i configure the ALM with :
    ActionAfterReboot = 'StopConfiguration'
    RebootNodeIfNeeded = $true
    ConfigurationMode = 'ApplyAndMonitor'
    ConfigurationModeFrequencyMins = '15'

and wait 15 minutes after the reboot ?

Thanks a lot,
    Jacky

Participant

If you are building a custom resource, during Set you will need to include setting the following global variable. This will signal to LCM that it should manage a reboot.
    $global:DSCMachineStatus = 1

If you are only building a configuration and the existing resources meet your needs, you might need to use the xPendingReboot resource to detect that a reboot is needed. That resources is designed specifically to look for signs that Windows Server needs a reboot and then sets the global variable to make LCM aware.

Also you need to set ActionAfterReboot to ContinueConfiguration if you want DSC to continue on after the reboot has finished.
    https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/powershell/dsc/metaconfig#basic-settings

Thanks!
    Michael

Participant

Hi Michael,
    Thanks for the quick response.

what i am trying to do, is to install our product on machine.
    the product is installation include to executable files. the second one should run after reboot.
    i tried to use the Package and the WindowsProcess modules to install it but with out any success.