Copy 1 File to Multiple Computers

Tagged: ,

This topic contains 8 replies, has 4 voices, and was last updated by Profile photo of Ken Berns Ken Berns 1 year, 11 months ago.

• Author
    Profile photo of Ken Berns
    Ken Berns
    Participant

I'm having a devil of a time getting this script to work. I want to copy a local file (Public.lnk) to several other PC Desktops. I cannot get it to work and have tried several other variations. I'm a total newbe at PowerShell so any help would be appreciated .

# PCList.txt is a list of IP addresses.
    $PCList = Get-Content -Path C:\Scripts\PCList.txt

foreach ($PC in $PCList){
    Copy-Item -Path C:\scripts\files\Public.lnk -Destination \\$PC\C$\Users\Public\Desktop
    }

This is the error I'm getting-
    Copy-Item : The filename, directory name, or volume label syntax is incorrect.
    At C:\Scripts\CopyFile06.ps1:4 char:1
    + Copy-Item -Path C:\scripts\files\Public.lnk -Destination \\$PC\C$\Users\Public\D ...
    + ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Profile photo of Windows LiveUser26
    Windows LiveUser26
    Participant

I believe you may have to change your parameter. Try this:

$PCList = (Get-content -Path C:\Scripts\PCList.txt)

I'm fairly new at this so anybody else, feel free to correct me.

Ken Berns
    Participant

Thanks for the quick response – but that didn't do it. I get the same error.
    On all the examples I've studied (dozens), none put parenthesis around that parameter. It seems the issues is with the execution syntax ??

Profile photo of Windows LiveUser26
    Windows LiveUser26
    Participant

Have you tried to remove the Admin share ($) from your path?

-Destination \\$PS\C:\Users\Public\Desktop

Profile photo of Greg Altman
    Greg Altman
    Participant

Hi Ken,
    I believe the problem is in the Destination part.
    Try escaping the $ in the destination path

# PCList.txt is a list of IP addresses.