Custom Function - Export MSI Package Codes to CSV File

This topic contains 3 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by Profile photo of Chicken Pecker Chicken Pecker 1 year, 11 months ago.

• Author
    Profile photo of Chicken Pecker
    Chicken Pecker
    Participant

I am a noob who has been handed the attached power shell script and instructed to append the output to a csv file. It sounds simple enough but I am making little to no progress on it. In order to run the script you will need to define a path to a msi package – this is done on the very last line of the script. When you execute the script it will output Product_Name, Product_Version and Package_Code. I need to export and append those 3 items to a csv file. When I execute the export function I receive a parameter error that bombs the script out.

Within the script I have commented out the lines of code I have attempted adding/manipulating to try and make this work. Any help or direction on this would be much appreciated. Thank You in Advance.

***NOTE*** The script will run on any msi file but you must specify the path at the end of the script:
    Get-MsiInformation "C:\path\to\msi\file\app_name.msi"

Profile photo of Daniel Krebs
    Daniel Krebs
    Participant

Please replace the Add-MsiPackageCodeToCsv function in your script with below:

function Add-MsiPackageCodeToCsv {

Param (
            [String] $IsGa = $(throw "Parameter -IsGa [System.String] is required."),
            [IO.FileInfo] $MsiFilePath = $(throw "Parameter -MsiFilePath [IO.FileInfo] is required."),
            [String] $CsvFilePath = "C:\test.csv"
        )

$PackageInfo = Get-MsiInformation $MsiFilePath
        $PackageInfo['IsGa'] = $IsGa

try {

if (Test-Path -Path $CsvFilePath) {

$PackageList = @(Import-Csv -Path $CsvFilePath)

if ($PackageList.PackageCode -contains $PackageInfo.PackageCode) {

throw "$($PackageInfo.PackageCode) already exists in list of current package codes"
                }
            }