Defining Parameters

This topic contains 2 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by  Jeremiah Logan 1 week, 6 days ago.

• Author

Jeremiah Logan
    Participant

I am working on a script for which I have written a GUI. The user fills out the fields and then the GUI passes those by way of parameters to the underlying script. Below is a reproducer of what I am trying:

Param (
       [string]$sVM,
       [string]$iCPU,
       [string]$iRAM,
       [string]$sIP,
       [string]$sSubnet,
       [string]$sGateway,
       [string]$sDNS,
       [string]$sDescription,
       [string]$sSite,
       [string]$sHost,
       [string]$sDStore,
       [string]$sTemplate,
       [string]$sSpec,
       [string]$sFolder,
       [string]$sOU
    )

Write-Host $args.Count "args"

ForEach ($sArg in $args) {
            Write-Host $sArg
        }

I am relatively new to PowerShell, having come from other languages, but was under the impression the parameters had to be at the top of the script, which is why I formatted this way. When I run the script with something like this (quotes around those fields with spaces):

Args.ps1 SPERA-SCCM01 4 16 10.10.120.115 255.255.255.0 10.10.115.254 10.10.1.120 "SCCM 2016 Server" ERA ER-vms33.mycompany.com Dev-ERA-App01 "ER 2016 Template 02" ScriptERADomain ScriptDeploy "OU=Patch Reboot,OU=ERA,OU=Servers,DC=mycompany,DC=com"

The issue I am having is, if I run the script just as written above, I get the following output which seems to indicate it found none of the parameters:

./Args.ps1 SPERA-SCCM01 4 16 10.10.120.115 255.255.255.0 10.10.115.254 10.10.1.120 "SCCM 2016 Server" ERA ER-vms33.mycompany.com Dev-ERA-App01 "ER 2016 Template 02" ScriptERADomain ScriptDeploy "OU=Patch Reboot,OU=ERA,OU=Servers,DC=mycompany,DC=com"
    0 args

If I add something to the first line, even just a simple Write-Host "Beginning" or a cls, I get an error on Param (which I would expect, it not being the first line), but the output is what I would expect: