Deploying web frontend, service backend and SQL Server to VM via DSC?

This topic contains 7 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by Profile photo of Don Jones Don Jones 2 years, 3 months ago.

• Author
    Profile photo of Chris Sells
    Chris Sells
    Participant

I've got a new project in VS and I'm trying to "do the right thing" by deploying a web client, a web service and a database backend to a VM using DSC. I'm new to DSC, but my understanding is that I want to have DSC resources, i.e. a VM, an IIS instance, a SQL Server instance, and then make sure the latest version of my frontend, my backend and my database schema are all deployed. This seems like almost the smallest sample of what I'd actually want to do with DSC, but I'll be damned if I can find anything even close to an end-to-end sample. Pointers? Thanks!

Profile photo of Don Jones
    Don Jones
    Keymaster

So, start with "The DSC Book," one of our free ebooks (Resources menu).

And yes, each machine to which you will deploy a DSC configuration will need to have the appropriate resources to implement that config, but those can be deployed via a Pull server, or manually. "a VM" and "an IIS instance" is not a DSC resource; a DSC resource is a specific hunk of code that might create a VM or set up an IIS instance.

Profile photo of Daniel Krebs
    Daniel Krebs
    Participant

And check out the DSC Resource Kit with the experimental modules.

http://gallery.technet.microsoft.com/DSC-Resource-Kit-All-c449312d

I think most of the experimental DSC resource modules come with end-to-end examples like xWebAdministration.

http://gallery.technet.microsoft.com/scriptcenter/xWebAdministration-Module-3c8bb6be

Chris Sells
    Participant

@Don, I have your book open in front of me. I heard Steven Murawski's DNR interview and was inspired. I'm finding the book great on general principles and light on managing instances of specific resources.