Determining archive attributes of .pdf files

This topic contains 9 replies, has 4 voices, and was last updated by Profile photo of Peter Marsh Peter Marsh 6 months, 3 weeks ago.

• Author
    Profile photo of Peter Marsh
    Peter Marsh
    Participant

I am trying to build scripts that will allow me to identify files archive bit state, and change the state to either set or clear. I have looked at the "Scripting Guy" posts for Jan 26 and Jan 27, 2011. However, when I use "Get-itemproperty" on one of my files, the attribute returned is "directory" These are all .pdf files. If I look at the file property under Windows, it shows "ready for archiving" box checked. Can't build the script until I can see the archive state...
    Background: I'm a newbie, but have taken both Powershell 3 courses by Jeffry and Jason in Microsoft Virtual Academy, and am partway through "Powershell 3 in a month of lunches."

Profile photo of TomBaker
    TomBaker
    Participant

That post goes into detail.
    Perhaps you can paate your code that you are getting unexpected results from.

Profile photo of random commandline
    random commandline
    Participant
    $files = Get-ChildItem -Path '\\path\to\files' -Filter *.pdf
    foreach ($file in $files){
        If ($file.Attributes -ne 'Archive'){$file.Attributes = 'Archive'}}

Profile photo of Christian Sandfeld
    Christian Sandfeld
    Participant

I can't say why one of your files would return the directory bit. But I have done a bit of testing, and to detect if archive bit is set or not on files, you can do something like this:

$Path      = 'C:\TEMP\TEST1'
    $Filter    = '*.pdf'
    $Attribute = [System.IO.FileAttributes]::Archive

# Get all files in $Path matching $Filter
    Get-ChildItem -Path $Path -Filter $Filter -Recurse

# Get all files in $Path matching $Filter where $Attribute is set
    Get-ChildItem -Path $Path -Filter $Filter -Recurse | Where-Object { $_.Attributes -band $Attribute }