E-Mail Notification When A User Account In A Specific Security Group Is Disabled

Welcome Forums General PowerShell Q&A E-Mail Notification When A User Account In A Specific Security Group Is Disabled

This topic contains 6 replies, has 5 voices, and was last updated by

Participant
4 weeks ago.

• Author

Participant

Hello All!
    To say I am a noob in the world of PowerShell is an understatment. Hoping the community folks could assist me. I need to create an automated process that does the following. Scenario is based on user being terminated or leave the organization.1) User account get's disabled in AD as part of the employee termination process2) User account is part of a specific security group for example SAP-Users3) We need an e-mail notification that a users account was disabled that belongs to the group "SAP-Users" Note: This process should only apply if the user account belongs "SAP-Users"
    Can I do this all in powershell or do you recommend another tool

Keymaster

It's going to be a heavy, heavy lift to do this in PowerShell if the employee's account is being disabled somewhere else. There's no way for PowerShell to 'detect' that this is happening; you'd have to basically maintain an entire copy of AD someplace else, and then scan it for changes, which is going to be a huge task. This isn't really about PowerShell's suitability as a tool; it's just how AD works. This is something that needs to happen _at the time the account is disabled_, by whatever tool is being used to do the disabling.

Participant

Thanks Don!