Event Log help

This topic contains 5 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by  John K 3 years, 9 months ago.

• Author

John K
    Participant

Hi,

I started a thread in the old forum but since then my account seems to have disappeared. I can see the old thread but it doesn't work...like my account.

Before you read on, I should mention I'm a PS noob.

I have been working a script that will contact a number of remote servers and check the application event log over the last 24 hours. I want any repeat alerts to simply count up rather than keep being displayed in the output.

The problem I'm having is I tried using "group-object -property eventid". This provides me with a count of repeat alerts but kills the formatting.

Here's my script and sample output with "group-object -property eventid" included. Without it the output is nice but doesn't give me a repeat count. Hopefully the web page doesn't mess it up.

Invoke-Command -ComputerName (Get-Content C:\test_servers.txt) -Command {Get-EventLog -LogName application -EntryType Error, warning, information -After $(Get-Date).AddHours(-24)| Select-Object machinename, entrytype, message, source, eventid | group-object -property eventid| format-list}| out-file c:\test_eventlog_group.txt

Sample output:
    Name : 1704
    Count : 2
    Group : {@{MachineName=SERVER1; EntryType=Information; Message=Security policy in the Group policy objects has been applied successfully.;
    Source=SceCli; EventID=1704}, @{MachineName=SERVER!; EntryType=Information; Message=Security policy in the Group policy objects has been applied
    successfully.; Source=SceCli; EventID=1704}}
    Values : {1704}

Is seems all the content is contained in the "group" field.

Any help appreciated.

Dave Wyatt

What do you want the output file to look like, ideally? I'm not sure what you're trying to accomplish with the Group-Object cmdlet yet.

John K
    Participant

This example would be nice..

MachineName :
    EntryType : Information