Exit main script based off if else

This topic contains 0 replies, has 1 voice, and was last updated by  Forums Archives 5 years, 10 months ago.

• Author

by sharpton at 2013-01-16 06:05:30

Hello all,

I have been searching for an answer and cannot seem to find it. I am a Powershell rookie, I have everything working as it should except for how my if/then is handled inside an invoke-command script. Earlier in my script I start a site on a remote server to add it to a load balancer pool. The site starts fine. My problem begins when I try to check that the site is actually started and if it is not, exit the script. The invoke command is exiting, I want the main script to stop when the site is not started and "else" is used.

I know it is reaching the else part, because it will write my text, it just does not exit. This works outside of the invoke-command.

Sample:

#added to test a failure
    Write-Host "The site should now be started on $server2, stop it to create a fail condition, press any key to continue"
    $x = $host.UI.RawUI.ReadKey("NoEcho,IncludeKeyDown")

Invoke-Command -ComputerName "$server2" -Credential $cred -ScriptBlock { import-module webadministration; if ((Get-WebsiteState -Name "CSS Monitoring").Value -eq "Started") {
    Write-Host "CSS Monitoring Started on $args" }
    ELSE
    { Write-Host "CSS Monitoring did not start on $args, script halted"
    exit }
    } -argumentlist $server2

#added to see if the script exits or not above.
    Write-Host "The script continued"

Your help is greatly appreciated.

Sharpton

by DonJ at 2013-01-17 06:53:14

Ugh, Write-Host. Yuck.

You're kind of doing the logic wrong. If the site exists, just allow the script to fall through to the end and complete naturally. Any code you want executed if the site does not exist, should be in the other part of the If construct, so that it doesn't execute if the site exists. In other words, you really shouldn't ever use exit to bail on a script.