File Check Script

Welcome Forums General PowerShell Q&A File Check Script

Viewing 3 reply threads
  • Author
      Participant
      Topics: 2
      Replies: 1

Im still fairly new to using powershell and scripting, I have a script that grabs a file out of a folder and emails it to whoever needs it daily.

What im wondering is, Can I make a separate .txt file that has all the emails inside and it sends it to all of them?

also, how would I use the script to basically do this:

if file with name “test” created with todays date is there, send email saying successful

if file with name “test” ย is not there with todays date, send email saying failed.

this is what I have currently-

#Request model for daily email

$file = “E:\test.xlsx”

$smtpServer = “123.45.67.890”

$msg = new-object Net.Mail.MailMessage
      $att = new-object Net.Mail.Attachment($file)
      $smtp = new-object Net.Mail.SmtpClient($smtpServer)

$msg.From = “xxx@xxx.com”
      $msg.To.Add(“xxxx@xxxx.com”)
      $msg.Subject = “xxxx”
      $msg.Body = “Automated E-mail”
      $msg.Attachments.Add($att)

$smtp.Send($msg)

Participant
      Topics: 4
      Replies: 2231
      Helping Hand

Bradley, welcome to Powershell.org. Please take a moment and read the very first post on top of the list of this forum: Read Me Before Posting! Youโ€™ll be Glad You Did!.

When you post code or error messages or sample data or console output format it as code, please.
      In the “Text” view you can use the code tags “PRE“, in the “Visual” view you can use the format template “Preformatted“. You can go back edit your post and fix the formatting – you don’t have to create a new one.
      Thanks in advance.

A simple version could be something like this:

$Path = 'E:\test.xlsx'
      $File = Get-Item -Path $Path
      $today = (Get-Date).Date

$SendMailMessageSplat = @{
              from         = 'xxx@xxx.com'
              to           = 'xxxx@xxxx.com'
              subject      = $subject