Fill RichTextBox with Get-Content

This topic contains 4 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by Profile photo of Tom Kemp Tom Kemp 3 years, 10 months ago.

• Author
    Profile photo of YellowOnline
    YellowOnline
    Participant

(OK, I managed to add content to my thread... the site doesn't seem to function in FF 21.0... IE works)

I'm creating a GUI application, an offline UBB text editor, with Powershell. I'm new to GUI development and struggling with getting my content into a RichTextBox.

What I do right now is:

$smnuOpen_Click = {$dlgOpen.ShowDialog() ; $txtEditor.Text = (Get-Content $dlgOpen.FileName)}

The content is indeed put into my RichTextbox, but returns have been lost.

If my input is

Foo
    Bar

The RichTextBox will show:

FooBar

Tabs are not a problem on the other hand. Anyone knows a solution for this? Keeping the formatting is quite essential to my application 🙂

Profile photo of Don Jones
    Don Jones
    Keymaster

We don't support the "code" bb tags. You're meant to use the <> button in the toolbar to paste code.

Get-Content doesn't read your text as a single string. It parses the text, and essentially splits the file on CRLF. Each line in the file thus becomes a System.String object. When you set the RTB it's probably calling ToString() on those, which won't produce CRLFs.

Try doing something like gc filename.txt | Out-String to force the shell to produce a single string for you.

Profile photo of Don Jones
    Don Jones
    Keymaster

(oh, and I use the site almost exclusively in FF 21.0, FWIW).

Profile photo of YellowOnline
    YellowOnline
    Participant

Hi Don. I feel like God is talking to me right now.
    I noticed about the [code]-tags. The crayon-method doesn't seem to like me either though ^^

Most importantly: your suggestion was spot on. It works like a charm. Thank you very, very much!

Profile photo of Tom Kemp
    Tom Kemp
    Participant