Finding latest file in multiple sub-directories

This topic contains 0 replies, has 1 voice, and was last updated by Profile photo of Forums Archives Forums Archives 5 years, 3 months ago.

• Author

by Muzznz at 2013-02-26 17:02:48

Noob here so forgive me if this seems basic. I have a directory that has about 90 sub-directories, we'll call these Top Level Directories. Each of these TLDs has a number of sub directories .

For each of these TLDs I am wanting to find the latest file , name date and time of.

I have found the following code, which works if I run it within the TLD, but I want to run it at the level where I can see all 90 TLDs, and have it "walk" down each TLDs structure to give me the answers.

I should end up with the latest file in each of the TLDs, about 90 of them 🙂

dir -recurse | ?{$_.PsIsContainer -ne $true} | sort -prop LastWriteTime | select -last 1

by DonJ at 2013-02-26 17:14:59

First rule of PowerShell.org: Don't do the "noob" apology ;). No need.

Eighth rule: Try to use command names (Where-Object) vs. punctuation aliases (?) – just so other noobs can follow along more easily!

So, my understanding is that you want to exclude the sub-directories of your top-level directories, which your current command will not do. Is that correct? You can do this if you can set a variable that contains your toppest-level directory. So, if your structure is:

C:\Topmost
    C:\Topmost\A
    C:\Topmost\B
    etc

Where A and B are your top-level directories, you could do this:

$topmost = "Topmost"
    Get-ChildItem -Path $topmost -recurse |
    Where { $_PsIsContainer -and $_.Parent -eq $topmost } |
    ForEach { Get-ChildItem -Path $_.FullName |
    Where { $_.PsIsContainer -eq $False } |
    Sort -Property LastWriteTime |
    Select -Last 1 }