Formatting a calculated DateTime Field

This topic contains 3 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by Profile photo of Tim Pringle Tim Pringle 8 months, 1 week ago.

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    Profile photo of Barry Pain
    Barry Pain
    Participant

Propably an easy question but I'm still pretty new to PS. I'm trying to return only the date part of a datetime field as below but can't get it working:

get-mailbox -OrganizationalUnit "ou=OUNAME,dc=DCNAME,dc=local" -resultsize unlimited | get-mailboxstatistics | Format-Table DisplayName, @[Name="LastLogon";Expression=[$.LastLogonTime.tostring 'dd/MM/yyyy'}},Itemcount -Autosize | Out-File C:\Temp\Get_permissions\Sharedstats.csv

It complains about an unrecognized token, I think the @.

Anyone able to point me in the right direction?

Profile photo of Tim Pringle
    Tim Pringle
    Participant

Hi Barry,

I think you're better to approach this slightly differently, by doing the formatting of the date object within the Select part. Also, i can see some other problems you may come across, because you are not actually formatting the object in CSV format. CSV will depend on a delimeter of some type, such as a tab or a command. However, Format-Table outputs the data with spaces between the column, which will not be picked up as a native CSV format.

$result = get-mailbox -OrganizationalUnit 'ou=OUNAME,dc=DCNAME,dc=local' -resultsize unlimited |
    Get-MailboxStatistics |
    Select-Object -Property DisplayName, @{
        n = 'LastLoginTime'
        e = {
            $($_.LastLogonTime).ToString('dd/MM/yyyy')
        }
    }, ItemCount

$result |
    ConvertTo-Csv -Delimiter ',' -NoTypeInformation |
    Out-File -FilePath C:\Temp\Get_permissions\Sharedstats.csv

It's a good idea if you are referring to a property of a property of an object, or have a complex expression to work out that you simplify it.

One example would be to do this

$($object.property).ToString()

And another.