Author Posts

January 26, 2016 at 12:37 am

Propably an easy question but I'm still pretty new to PS. I'm trying to return only the date part of a datetime field as below but can't get it working:

get-mailbox -OrganizationalUnit "ou=OUNAME,dc=DCNAME,dc=local" -resultsize unlimited | get-mailboxstatistics | Format-Table DisplayName, @[Name="LastLogon";Expression=[$.LastLogonTime.tostring 'dd/MM/yyyy'}},Itemcount -Autosize | Out-File C:\Temp\Get_permissions\Sharedstats.csv

It complains about an unrecognized token, I think the @.

Anyone able to point me in the right direction?

January 26, 2016 at 1:15 am

Hi Barry,

I think you're better to approach this slightly differently, by doing the formatting of the date object within the Select part. Also, i can see some other problems you may come across, because you are not actually formatting the object in CSV format. CSV will depend on a delimeter of some type, such as a tab or a command. However, Format-Table outputs the data with spaces between the column, which will not be picked up as a native CSV format.

$result = get-mailbox -OrganizationalUnit 'ou=OUNAME,dc=DCNAME,dc=local' -resultsize unlimited |
Get-MailboxStatistics |
Select-Object -Property DisplayName, @{
    n = 'LastLoginTime'
    e = {
        $($_.LastLogonTime).ToString('dd/MM/yyyy')
    }
}, ItemCount

$result |
ConvertTo-Csv -Delimiter ',' -NoTypeInformation |
Out-File -FilePath C:\Temp\Get_permissions\Sharedstats.csv

It's a good idea if you are referring to a property of a property of an object, or have a complex expression to work out that you simplify it.

One example would be to do this

$($object.property).ToString()

And another.

$prop = $object.property
$propstring = $prop.ToString()

Either way is valid, so it comes down to personal preference.

January 26, 2016 at 2:33 am

Tim

Many thanks for your help. I've now managed to get this working using the below (in case anyone else is looking for this)