Get-ADUser Question

This topic contains 6 replies, has 4 voices, and was last updated by  notarat 4 years, 1 month ago.

• Author

Jeff Radin
    Participant

I am new to Powershell and am trying to use the following script to send out an email to notify users that their password will expire in a specific OU. But it keeps getting errors (see below script).

#Get Users From AD who are enabled
    Import-Module ActiveDirectory
    $users = get-aduser -filter * -SearchBase "OU=Users,DC=Test,DC=local" -properties * | where {$_.Enabled -eq "True"} | where { $_.PasswordNeverExpires -eq $false } | where { $_.passwordexpired -eq $false }

foreach ($user in $users)
    {
    $Name = (Get-ADUser $user | foreach { $_.Name})
    $emailaddress = $user.emailaddress
    $passwordSetDate = (Get-ADuser $user -properties * | foreach { $_.PasswordLastSet })
    $maxPasswordAge = (Get-ADDefaultDomainPasswordPolicy).MaxPasswordAge
    $expireson = $passwordsetdate + $maxPasswordAge
    $today = (get-date)
    $daystoexpire = (New-TimeSpan -Start $today -End $Expireson).Days
    $subject="Your password will expire in $daystoExpire days" }

Error:

Get-ADUser : Cannot validate argument on parameter 'Identity'. The argument is null. Supply a non-null argument and try the command again.
    At C:\Users\jradin\Desktop\Password Change Notification.ps1:14 char:22
    + $Name = (Get-ADUser <<<< $user | foreach { $_.Name}) + CategoryInfo : InvalidData: (:) [Get-ADUser], ParameterBindingValidationException + FullyQualifiedErrorId : ParameterArgumentValidationError,Microsoft.ActiveDirectory.Management.Commands.GetADUser Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Dave Wyatt

$user already refers to an object returned by the Get-ADUser cmdlet; why call Get-ADUser again inside the loop? You should be able to just do $Name = $user.Name

Edit: On a side note, you'll get much better performance by using the -Filter parameter instead of pulling all users and then piping it to Where-Object. For example: