Get all logged in users / Check their AD groups

This topic contains 0 replies, has 1 voice, and was last updated by  Forums Archives 5 years, 8 months ago.

• Author

by maglor at 2013-01-08 18:45:59

Hello,

Noob here trying to come up with a powershell solution for a server i look after. Ill give you a run down of the problem first and then what i think it is i want to do as a solution, but i am very open to a better way if anyone knows of one.

Situation is that the client thinks he knows what he is doing on the server, however, he keeps breaking things and i end up spending hours trying to figure out what he broke as he deny's that he was even on the server (even though i can see his account in the logs). So what i am wanting is a script that either runs on every login (including RDP logins) or every 5minutes (for example) that checks for all current logged in user accounts to the server (including RDP logins), from that list of users it then checks that against AD to see if any of them are a member of the Domain Admins Group and if so create a file with login time, account name and any other useful snipets of information available and/or emails me.

The reason i cannot check for just a specific account, is that after telling him that i saw his account log in through the logs he is now making new admin accounts and also giving external people admin accounts also. The whole situation is very frustrating and he is doing all this to save a few dollars, by getting people from overseas to do "work" for him.

I already have a means of making the script run every 5 minutes and a way to read a file for specific keywords and then trigger an email if it exists however if there is a way to just make this happen from inside the script that would be great also.