Get-Eventlog not showing results

This topic contains 8 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by Profile photo of StephenC StephenC 5 months, 2 weeks ago.

• Author
    Profile photo of StephenC
    StephenC
    Participant

Hello Team,

When I execute the following script, it does not show results, only the "else" statement. But when I execute this line by itself, I get several results. It's obviously something wrong with the script, but since I'm a PS newbie, I'm not sure what it is! Help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
    Stephen C

$smtpServer = "smtp.mydomain.com"
    $smtpFrom = "$env:computername@mydomain.com"
    $smtpTo = "stephen@mydomain.com"
    $messageSubject = "$env:computername Application Event log 'Error/Warning' in last 24 hours"

$message = New-Object System.Net.Mail.MailMessage $smtpfrom, $smtpto
    $message.Subject = $messageSubject
    $message.IsBodyHTML = $true

$message.Body = Get-Eventlog -LogName Application -EntryType Error,Warning -After (Get-Date).AddHours(-24) | ConvertTo-Html
    ConvertTo-HTML -Body "$message" -Title "messageSubject" -CssURI c:\style.css

If ($message.Body -eq "Error,Warning")
    {
    $smtp = New-Object Net.Mail.SmtpClient($smtpServer)
    $smtp.Send($message)
    }
    else
    {
    Write-host "No Application Events on $env:computername"
    }

• This topic was modified 5 months, 2 weeks ago by Profile photo of Don Jones Don Jones.
    Profile photo of Don Jones
    Don Jones
    Keymaster

This:

$message.Body = Get-Eventlog -LogName Application -EntryType Error,Warning -After (Get-Date).AddHours(-24) | ConvertTo-Html

Means $message.Body contains a bunch of HTML.

This:

If ($message.Body -eq "Error,Warning")

Will never be true. $message.Body will never be exactly equal to "Error,Warning." The -eq operator tests for "exactly equal to."

StephenC
    Participant

Thank you for your response. I removed "Warning" from the code (as shown below) and still get the following issue.