Get-Service From All Computers in AD OU

Tagged: 

This topic contains 3 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by Profile photo of Raymond Slieff Raymond Slieff 2 years ago.

• Author
    Profile photo of Rodney
    Rodney
    Participant

Hey everyone!

I'm still a novice with Powershell but am completely hooked on the "power of the shell"! I've been playing around with some stuff on my network and ran across something I can't seem to find an answer to. I know this is probably a really simple question to everyone here so bear with me.

My goal is to find all active directory machines in an OU that have the DHCP Server service running. I can run the command below and get a list returned from all the machines in the particular OU but I only get the DHCP Client service returned. I know for a fact that at least one of the servers in this OU has DHCP Server running. What am I missing?

Get-ADComputer -SearchBase 'OU=servers,dc=MyDomain,dc=com' -Filter '*' | Select -Exp Name* | ForEach-Object {Get-Service -DisplayName *dhcp*}

Thanks for any and all help.

Profile photo of Richard Siddaway
    Richard Siddaway

You're not accessing the remote machine. Each call to Get-Service is running against the local machine as you haven't specified the name of the remote computer.

Your code should be

Get-ADComputer -SearchBase 'OU=servers,dc=MyDomain,dc=com' -Filter '*' | Select -Exp Name* | ForEach-Object {Get-Service -DisplayName *dhcp* -ComputerName $psitem }

You are looking for the DHCP server service so could make your Get-Service call

Get-ADComputer -SearchBase 'OU=servers,dc=MyDomain,dc=com' -Filter '*' | Select -Exp Name* | ForEach-Object {Get-Service -Name DHCPServer -ComputerName $psitem }

if you wanted to cut down the return data

Profile photo of Rodney
    Rodney
    Participant

Thank you Richard!

I knew this was something simple. I'm just now beginning to understand the flow of the PS commands.