Help - Combining Commands

This topic contains 9 replies, has 5 voices, and was last updated by Profile photo of Windows LiveUser6 Windows LiveUser6 3 years ago.

• Author
    Profile photo of Windows LiveUser6
    Windows LiveUser6
    Participant

I am brand new to using PowerShell and am having a bit of trouble attempting to pull some data. What I'm trying to do is grab some basic information from mailboxes and the license names associated with those mailboxes for users within a specific OU in AD. I can get the mailbox information and the license names but I'm not sure how to filter that only to those mailboxes within certain OUs in AD. I'd like to get the info only for those accounts that are in our disabled employees OU. Can someone help me please? This is what I have so far.

$datapath = "c:\DisabledAccountsInfo.csv"
    $results = @()
    $mailboxusers = get-mailbox -resultsize unlimited
    foreach ($user in $mailboxusers)
    {
    $UPN = $user.userprincipalname
    $license = get-msoluser -userprincipalname $UPN
    $mailboxinfo = get-mailbox $upn
    $properties = @{
    ExchangeGUID = $user.exchangeguid
    Name = $user.name
    Userprincipalname = $UPN
    License = $license.licenses[0].accountskuid
    Enabled =
    }
    $results += new-object psobject -property $properties
    }
    $results | Select-Object Name, Userprincipalname, exchangeguid, license |
    export-csv -path $datapath

At what point can I filter this to only those users who are in the specific OUs or who are disabled in AD?

Thanks in advance!

Profile photo of Dave Wyatt
    Dave Wyatt

I don't have an Exchange environment to test this, but according to Get-Mailbox's documentation, there's an -OrganizationalUnit parameter which can be used to set the search root. Try something like this (after modifying it to contain your actual OU distinguished name):

$mailboxusers = get-mailbox -resultsize unlimited -OrganizationalUnit 'OU=Disabled Employees,OU=Whatever,DC=contoso,DC=com'