Help Creating Binary registry entries using an input file

This topic contains 9 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by Profile photo of charles otstot charles otstot 1 year, 9 months ago.

• Author
    Profile photo of charles otstot
    charles otstot
    Participant

Hello,
    I'm new to PowerShell, so the answer may be staring me in the face....
    I'm building a script to modify various registry entries using a .csv as an input file.
    The environment is a Win 7 environment, with PowerShell 3.0...

I'm stuck on properly creating the values for binary entries.
    The section of script is simply adding sites to the "Allowed Sites" list for the pop-up blocker in IE 10 and/or 11 (GPOs are not an option).

Here's the code-everything seems to work, except that the value is not as expected...

#Create an array using a .csv file that is formatted and populated with data as indicated below
    # Name,Type,Value
    #Site1,Binary,"00,00"
    $as = @(import-csv 'somepath\Allowed.csv')
    foreach ($a in $as)
    {
    $a.Name,$a.Type,$a.Value
    new-itemproperty -path 'HKCU:\software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\New Windows\Allow' -name $a.name -type $a.type -Value $a.value
    }

Running the script against the input file, I consistently get a registry value of {0}, rather than {0,0}. However, if I run the new-itemproprty cmdlet with the -value property discretely entered as 00,00..the value returns {0,0}.
    i.e. "new-itemproperty -path 'HKCU:\software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\New Windows\Allow' -name $a.name -type *a.type -Value 00,00" returns values as expected...

I presume my error lies in the properties of the .value noteproperty string value? I'd like to expand the base script to additional registry keys, so I need to make sure I get values to populate properly from the array properties. Am I missing a blatant conversion step, or is my issue more subtle?

Thanks for any help!

Charlie O

Profile photo of Steven Ayers
    Steven Ayers