Help Please, if you dare! (info inside since title sucks)

This topic contains 3 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by Profile photo of Gerg Utubr Gerg Utubr 11 months, 1 week ago.

• Author
    Profile photo of Gerg Utubr
    Gerg Utubr

The following is a script I'm trying to put together that
    takes in a list of users from a database file and adds them as users into the active directory. Also omits duplicates. I'll comment where I know issues reside, I'm hoping you'll be kind enough to help me get it to work since PS errors don't help me much I'm a noob.

Import-Module ActiveDirectory

$newUserList = Import-Csv C:\Users\Administrator\Desktop\dbs\Monday.csv

ForEach ($item in $newUserList){
    $fname = $($item.first_name)
    $lname = $($item.last_name)
    $phone = $($item.phone1)
    #I know everything works up to this point.

# Puts Domain name into a Placeholder.

# Build the User Principal Name Username with Domain added to it

# Create the Displayname

$Name=$fname+” “+$lname

# Create User in Active Directory FIRST issue resides here, PS doesn't understand the following cmdlets, it misinterprets them all as objects. I assume none of it works but I'm especially unsure of the TelephoneNumber as I just guessed on that one:

$newusers1 = (NEW-QADUSER –FirstName $fname –Lastname $lname -Telephonenumber $phone –Name $DisplayName $Name –SamAccountName $username –UserPassword '1NewPassword' –UserPrincipalName $UPN –Name $Name –ParentContainer 'csilab.local')

#THE FOLLOWING CODE TAKES USERS IN newusers1 VAR AND PUTS THEM IN AD ACTIVE USERS GROUP. I haven't tested this as script isn't even making accounts yet. However I know this code section works.

get-AdUser $newusers1 | Move-ADObject -TargetPath 'OU=Active Users, dc=csilab, dc=local'
    Add-ADGroupMember -Identity "Active Users Security" -Members $newusers1