Help with get-adpermission, exporting extended rights to CSV

This topic contains 11 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by Profile photo of Dave Wyatt Dave Wyatt 3 years, 7 months ago.

• Author
    Profile photo of Matthew McDonald
    Matthew McDonald
    Participant

I am a pretty competent VB/VBscript developer but I swear I am never going to get the hang of Powershell. I run into so many little hang ups for reasons I cannot understand. It is so frustrating.

I'm trying to export some ACL information from my Exchange environment. Take for example the following command:

Get-ExchangeServer | where {$_.IsClientAccessServer -eq $TRUE} | Get-ADPermission

I simply want to export the results of this onscreen information to a CSV file, but I cannot do it!

Running the following gets me a CSV file full of more information and every permission column only contains type information, not the actual information I seek.

Get-ExchangeServer | where {$_.IsClientAccessServer -eq $TRUE} | Get-ADPermission | Export-CSV -NoTypeInformation myfile.csv

In order to trim out unwanted information from the CSV I add a select-object statement to select the columns I want, but the Inherited and Rights column are all blank.

Get-ExchangeServer | where {$_.IsClientAccessServer -eq $TRUE} | Get-ADPermission | Select-Object Identity,User,Deny,Inherited,Rights

Apparently Inherited and Rights are not valid columns, yet they are clearly identified as such in the on-screen output of the command. Using "get-adpermission | get-member" I find the columns I seek are actually IsInherited and AccessRights OR ExtendedRights. Two different columns combine to make up the "Rights" column from the on-screen display???

So I modify my output to select the actual columns I want. This works on-screen, though now the data is in a list format instead of the table provided by the base Get-ADPermission command.