Helping a newbie with script and validation flow

This topic contains 7 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by  Olaf Soyk 3 months, 2 weeks ago.

• Author

K. Laage
    Participant

I'm a self-taught admin + tech working with one colleague (who's also mostly self taught) at a high school, managing both clients and servers – 99% Windows (7, 10, Server 2012 and Server 2012R2).
    We've been doing most things manually but I'm looking into converting as much work as possible into more of a DevOps setup, with Powershell-scripts for multi step tasks.

As an example, I have a powershell-script which moves a student from one year to another (basically they have user names with a two-digit prefix based on the year they started and a suffix with two letters from their first names and four from their last names) if they need to repeat a grade.
    It basically renames the account in the AD with the correct year-prefix, changes the samAccountName, renames Home and Profile-directories on disk and changes paths on the profile-tab in AD, moves the user into a new OU and security group etc.
    It works as intended if the user account to be renamed exists and there's no name conflict with the new name. But I'd like for the script to validate that there's no problem with user names, source and target security groups and OUs etc. and eventually split the script up into smaller clearly defined functions for better readability.

However, I don't want someone to just (re)write the script for me, I'd prefer to be able to discuss script flow and come to my own conclusions and solutions.

Would this be a good place for this kind of discussions, or does anyone have suggestions for where to look?

/Laage

Simon B
    Participant

Without seeing any of your code it will be hard (before posting code please read the section on posting code)

Having said that on your name changing part you could use try / catch
    Try
    {
    Your name change code here
    }
    Catch
    {