How to change "Length' property?

Tagged: , ,

This topic contains 4 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by  Jay Jones 3 years, 8 months ago.

• Author

Jay Jones
    Participant

I am running a command that's gets all of the .avi files from a path on my computer, i am sorting the output by Length in Descending order and outputting it to a file. What i would like to do is format the returned length property so that is shows in a more manageable format e.g KB/MB/GB. Is there a way to do this?

Get-ChildItem -Path "C:\windows.old\users\user\" -recurse -include *.avi -ea 0 | Sort-Object Length -Descending | format-table -Property Name, Directory, Length | out-file "C:\user_Avi.txt"

Sorry if this is basic i am new to Powershell and still learning/not familiar with nest practices.

Cheers,

Jay

Jay Jones
    Participant

Thanks very much Dave,

Your explanation was helpful I now get the size column with all of the 'expressions' in MB! I'm not 100% sure with how it works however as like i said i am a beginner. Could you explain this part a little bit further?

if ($_.Length -ge 1GB)
    {
    '{0:F2} GB' -f ($_.Length / 1GB)
    }

What does the -ge and -f do? Also how does '{0:F2} ...' give a the length in a different output? Any extra explanation would be greatly appreciated.

Kind regards,

Jay

Dave Wyatt

-ge is PowerShell's "greater than or equal to" operator; I set up those conditions to decide whether to display the size in GB, MB, KB, or bytes (anything less than 1KB just displays the bytes, between 1KB and 1MB displays in KB, etc). PowerShell has some convenient numeric literal shortcuts, such as 1GB (which is 1073741824 bytes) so you don't have to do the math yourself.