How to count files in a directory and its sub-directories

This topic contains 0 replies, has 1 voice, and was last updated by  Forums Archives 5 years, 10 months ago.

• Author

by Giz059 at 2012-11-21 05:29:59

Hi everybody,

I'm quite new in the world of Powershell and i've been asked to get an information that seems easy to get in powershell but not so when you are in front of your screen 😉

I would like to enumerate all the files contained in all the c:\windows\winsxs subdirectories and for each file i would like to have the number of times it appears

For example : The file "win32k.sys" appears "21" times in all winsxs subdirectories.

Thank's a lot for the expert advices !

Ghislain

by Klaas at 2012-11-21 06:04:26

Like this?

Get-Childitem -Recurse C:\Windows\Winsxs | Group-Object name | Select-Object count, name

by selko at 2012-11-21 06:34:04

Get-ChildItem -Path "C:\Windows\Winsxs" -Recurse | Where-Object { -not $_.PSIsContainer } | Group-Object Name | Select-Object Count,Name

with this you only get the filenames without directories

by Giz059 at 2012-11-21 06:39:21

Yes perfect, i just add a date notion to have the file only modify within the past 3 months. It give this :

$date= (get-date).AddMonths(-3)
    Get-ChildItem . *.sys -Recurse -force | Where-Object {$_.LastWriteTime -gt $date} | Group-Object name | Select-Object Count,LastWriteTime,Name,DirectoryName
    Get-ChildItem . *.inf -Recurse -force | Where-Object {$_.LastWriteTime -gt $date} | Group-Object name | Select-Object Count,LastWriteTime,Name,DirectoryName
    Get-ChildItem . *.exe -Recurse -force | Where-Object {$_.LastWriteTime -gt $date} | Group-Object name | Select-Object Count,LastWriteTime,Name,DirectoryName
    Get-ChildItem . *.dll -Recurse -force | Where-Object {$_.LastWriteTime -gt $date} | Group-Object name | Select-Object Count,LastWriteTime,Name,DirectoryName