How to created multiple users in different OUs based on data from a CSV file?

This topic contains 5 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by Profile photo of A R A R 1 year, 10 months ago.

• Author
    Profile photo of A R
    A R
    Participant

Hello there,

I'll start by pointing out that I am very new to PowerShell and to this forum.

So here is my situation:

I managed to find a script that created multiple users in AD based on a .csv file. Originally the .csv file included the following headers: CN,sAMAccountName,LastName,FirstName. I managed to add a Group header so that the created users are made members of groups based on what is on the .csv file.
    It all works perfectly as I want it to. But now I want to add another header, "ParentOU" so that users will be created in or moved to the OU specified in the "ParentOU" column. That I was not able to include in my script and I am wondering if someone here could help me with that.

Sample .csv entry:

CN,sAMAccountName,LastName,FirstName,Group,ParentOU
    John Smith,SMIJ030787,Smith,John,Class01,'OU=Winter2015,OU=Students,DC=Domain,DC=Local'

Script:

$dataSource=import-csv -Path "C:\Users.csv"
    foreach($dataRecord in $datasource) {
    $cn=$dataRecord.cn
    $sAMAccountName=$dataRecord.sAMAccountName
    $givenName=$dataRecord.FirstName
    $sn=$dataRecord.LastName
    $group=$dataRecord.Group
    $ou=$dataRecord.ParentOU
    $displayName=$givenName + " " + $sn
    $userPrincipalName=$sAMAccountName + "@domain.local"
    $objUser=$objOU.Create("user","CN="+$cn)
    $objUser.Put("sAMAccountName",$sAMAccountName)
    $objUser.Put("userPrincipalName",$userPrincipalName)
    $objUser.Put("displayName",$displayName)
    $objUser.Put("givenName",$givenName)
    $objUser.Put("sn",$sn)
    $objUser.SetInfo()
    $objUser.SetPassword("SomePassword123")
    $objUser.Put("pwdLastSet",0)
    $objUser.psbase.InvokeSet("AccountDisabled",$false)
    $objUser.SetInfo()