How to get node’s information using compare-object?

Welcome Forums General PowerShell Q&A How to get node’s information using compare-object?

Viewing 4 reply threads
  • Author
      Participant
      Topics: 1
      Replies: 2

I have two xml files which I need to compare and get the differences present from the file. These are huge files
      test1.xml

test2.xml

When I ran the command

I got an output which has the information about the FileName also

Where as when I ran this command, it showed me the difference from test1.xml. But, I also want to know from which FileName

Any suggestion on this? I am very new to powershell.

Thanks,
      Zahid

Participant
      Topics: 6
      Replies: 15

What are you trying to do once you have the difference?

If you want to extract the value of the “Name” attribute from the node “FileName”, you will need to parse the information.

Something like:

Will output something like this:

But it really depends on how you want the output to displayed/used. What do you want to do next with the information, or how do you want it specifically presented?

Participant

Thanks Phatmandrake for your quick response. Based on the differences in the xml file, I need to run another business logic.
      The code you shared will work only if I have one node available.
      I am going to have a huge xml file with multiple nodes present.

The output of the code which you have shared will returns all the nodes, if I consider above example

But, I need only those FileNames which have the differences.

Participant
      Topics: 6
      Replies: 15