How to get started with powershell

This topic contains 9 replies, has 7 voices, and was last updated by  postanote 1 month, 1 week ago.

• Author

Matt
    Participant

I have been looking at videos on Microsoft Virtual Academy, Pluralsight, blogs on the internet, PowerShell in a month of lunches, and I have picked up some valuable knowledge. Of course, the best way to learn something, is by doing it repetitively.

The thing I am struggling with is where to start... can anyone recommend any scripts that they did when they were a complete beginner to get started? I would like some ideas of scripts I could create myself, and work from there to get better.

I would like it to include functions, parameters, loops etc. so I'm targeting a lot of areas and I can improve my knowledge.

Powershell seems like a great tool, and I would like to invest a lot of time into learning it (should have learnt it a few years ago) I just need some advice on where to start.

thanks 🙂

Jon
    Participant

Anything you did via GUI, Google how to do it in the shell and do it that way.

What is your job role? That would help with giving some more information

Larry Keyes
    Participant

Learn by doing. Find a project that you are interested in, and do it in Powershell. In my own case, I had a need to integrate various bits of an e-Commerce site, including Shopify (shop front end) Brightpearl (inventory), Warehouse, and credit-card processing, using REST-APIs. I knew I could have done it in Python or whatever, but I chose PS and managed to make substantial progress all while solving a series of sticky problems for my client. I'm now working with PS to automate manage of Office 365 for a branch office, which involves using PS to manage Exchange, o365, Azure, etc.

Matt
      Participant

Thank you all for the replies I didn't expect any!:)

I work with office 365, azure, Intune, device management with configuration manager etc.