how to process columns from a csv-file

This topic contains 4 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by Profile photo of Richard Diphoorn Richard Diphoorn 6 months, 4 weeks ago.

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    Profile photo of Roman Constantin
    Roman Constantin
    Participant

Hello,

i am a beginner in programming and specially powershell. Therefore I hope to learn a lot and hopefully to get help from you experts, too. I have a csv lists with 2 columns (one with some server-dns records, and one with ip addresses that the servers should have). In our company often hapens that the dns names will be deleted or overwritten in. For this reason I would like to creat a powershell script to check that (every day via task scheduler).
    I would like to import the csv-file and select the first columns (called Hosts which contains the dns names of the servers) and check if the dns records are still available. At the moment I don´t know how to select the forst column only and send it to foreach command. Here is my script:

$servers = get-content "C:\temp\test1.csv"

foreach ($Server in $Servers)
    {
    $Addresses = $null
    try {
    $Addresses = [System.Net.Dns]::GetHostAddresses("$Server").IPAddressToString
    }
    catch {
    $Addresses = "Hostname cannot be resolved."
    }
    foreach($Address in $addresses) {
    write-host $Server, $Address
    }
    }

Any Ideas?
    P.S: the second column with IP Addresses I will need as next step to ping them to find out if my machine is on or off.

Thank you so much

Profile photo of Don Jones
    Don Jones
    Keymaster

Use Import-CSV.

ForEach ($Server in (Import-CSV test1.csv)) {
    $Server.Hosts
    }

$Server will represent the current row, and $Server.Hosts will represent a column titled "Hosts" in the CSV.

FWIW, "Learn PowerShell in a Month of Lunches" covers this, and is a great way to learn about all the other difficult stuff in PowerShell.

Profile photo of Roman Constantin