If loop works fine when running on ISE's F5/F8 but not when executed on console

This topic contains 7 replies, has 4 voices, and was last updated by Profile photo of Dave Wyatt Dave Wyatt 1 year, 11 months ago.

• Author
    Profile photo of GJ
    GJ
    Participant

Hi Guys,

I am a powershell newbie , learning on PS3.

I have the below script which fails(if loop not functioning properly) when executed as a script in the console. But if I run it with ISE's F5/F8 it works fine. Am I doing something wrong here?

Script –

$server = 'SERVER1'
    if ( New-PSDrive -Name dummy -PSProvider FileSystem -Root \\$server\C$ -ErrorAction SilentlyContinue) 
    {
        write success
    }
    else 
    {
        write failed
    }

[i]SERVER1 is a remote host, it is online, but I do not have admin rights on this host. [/i]

Sample output ran with F5/F8/Console

When run with ISE's F8 – works as expected.

PS C:\Scripts\POSH> $server = 'SERVER1'
    if ( New-PSDrive -Name dummy -PSProvider FileSystem -Root \\$server\C$ -ErrorAction SilentlyContinue) 
    {
        write success
    }
    else 
    {
        write failed
    }
    failed

When run with ISE's F5 (Run Script)- works as expected.

PS C:\Scripts\POSH> C:\Scripts\POSH\draft.ps1
    failed

[b]When executed as script in ISE's Console or Powershell's console. IT FAILS HERE. [/b]

PS C:\Scripts\POSH> .\draft.ps1
    success

Profile photo of Don Jones
    Don Jones
    Keymaster

So, if you have no admin rights but you're conndcting to the admin share, you'd expect it to fail, right? You should read The Big Book of PowerShell Error Handling (free ebook). Your approach for detecting the error isn't reliable.

Profile photo of GJ
    GJ
    Participant

Thanks for the response Don, May be my description was not clear in the question. My error handling approach may be wrong, but my question is different.