Inconsistencies with Get-ADComputer | Get-Service

This topic contains 3 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by  Richard Siddaway 2 weeks, 2 days ago.

• Author

Aaron
    Participant

I'm very new to PowerShell, and I'm watching the Microsoft VMA Videos on getting started with PowerShell. I'm looking at Chapter 5 – "The Pipleline: Deeper."

The line that they use is:

get-adcomputer -filter * |select -property @{n="ComputerName";e={$_.name}} | Get-Service -name bits 

For me this shows the bits service running locally, but not on the remote server. For the remote service I get an error:

Get-Service: Cannot find any service with service name "bits"

I did some rather stupid things trying to troubleshoot this. As it was my lab, I built a new server, and try to rule out any network and DNS issues.

But all I needed to do for the command to work, was to use a wildcard. This command works for me:

get-adcomputer -filter * |select -property @{n="ComputerName";e={$_.name}} | Get-Service -name bits*

Now I can see 2 bits services running and no errors like in the video.

In my job, I deal more with Printing side of things so I tried with the Spooler Service.

Sure enough, this gets an error for remote server:

get-adcomputer -filter * |select -property @{n="ComputerName";e={$_.name}} | Get-Service -name spooler

Whereas this one shows both spoolers:

get-adcomputer -filter * |select -property @{n="ComputerName";e={$_.name}} | Get-Service -name spooler*

Why is this happening? Is it normal? It's not happening in the guy's video on MVA? Will I have to always use the wildcard character when running any scripts which touch remote services in future? :-\

postanote
    Participant

There are some environmental issues in your environment.

Bits is the exact name of the service.
    Using the '*' is of course just a wildcard that says give me anything that starts with bits.