IT Admin to PowerShell full-time

This topic contains 5 replies, has 4 voices, and was last updated by Profile photo of Graham Beer Graham Beer 9 months, 1 week ago.

• Author
    Profile photo of Mark Culnane
    Mark Culnane

I'm relatively new to IT Administration as a job, or any kind of Job for that matter. I've been employed in IT for close to 18 months now, and the one thing I always end up doing in my spare time, and just whenever I can, is expanding my knowledge in PowerShell, finding absolutely any reason to write a GUI tool for the other IT admins I work with, and the harder it is to make, the better.

For this reason, it led me to wonder, there are full-time jobs in PowerShell, but what can I do to move in that direction? I have a few Microsoft Certifications under my belt, but no such thing exists for PowerShell. So, I wanted to start a discussion here and find out what other people thought. I live in London, so I know there must be opportunities available.

Another thought, would anyone ever advise gaining a little bit of knowledge in other .NET programming languages such as C#?

Profile photo of Don Jones
    Don Jones

Actually, our "Verified Effective" exam is something, but it's only administered live at PowerShell Summit. And on that note, attending PowerShell-specific events – local user groups, Summit, PowerShell Saturday – those are the things that help you forward your career. You don't have a career in a vacuum.

And I'd definitely advise a programming language, and C# isn't a bad one to go with. Much of what you learn will make you better in PowerShell, too.