Learning the Industry, Labs, and all that stuff.

This topic contains 5 replies, has 4 voices, and was last updated by Profile photo of Jonathan Warnken Jonathan Warnken 6 months, 2 weeks ago.

• Author
    Profile photo of Tom Marsland
    Tom Marsland
    Participant

Hey guys – relatively new to the industry. I've been a Help Desk Manager for a little over a year now. Attended TechMentor and picked up lots of tips there, but I've got to ask here –

How do you stay current? I know a little bit of PowerShell now. I'm getting into being the guy that makes the tools for my organization, rather than just a tool user. I know a little bit of Active Directory – enough to manage the day to day, but not much more. I know a little bit about everything, it seems, and I have a hunger for more.

My work has bought me a basic MSDN subscription, which lets me play around with some of the server technologies, but besides just playing (which is great, don't get me wrong), I feel like I'd learn a lot more if I had a little guidance. I know how to build a home lab, but not the best practices for architecture in my job, and I just don't know what references to go to, to learn that stuff.

I'd love to do a deep dive into SCCM, Exchange, and into a lot of this stuff, but I don't want to teach myself the wrong way to do stuff, either. I'm love to hear your suggestions!

Profile photo of Arie H
    Arie H
    Participant

Lots of reading, viewing loads of YouTube videos and channel 9 ones.
    Depends on how "nuts" you are 😉
    For example, every day I do all this as basis:
    * Visit powershell.org forums, reading questions, reading answers. Picking a subject that i dont know much about yet then searching history of the forums, while searching articles and videos on the matter.