Looping a function and outputting results to csv

This topic contains 4 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by Profile photo of Don Jones Don Jones 3 years, 9 months ago.

• Author
    Profile photo of ShiftNick
    ShiftNick
    Participant

I'm new to powershell and I'm now pushing the limits of ability with the following.

I found the following method for creating a function to gather machine info. Now I'm looking to loop the function for a large group of machines on my network and output the results to a single file or a csv.

Any help, or links pointing to the answer for this would be appreciated.

# This section creates a function that calls the info from a WMIObject  #
    function Get-MachineInfo($ServerName="localhost")             
    {            
    get-wmiobject win32_computersystem -ComputerName $ServerName |            
    select DNSHostName, Manufacturer, Model, SystemType ,             
            @{Name="TotalPhysicalMemoryInMB";Expression={"{0:n2}" -f($_.TotalPhysicalMemory/1mb)}},             
            NumberOfLogicalProcessors, NumberOfProcessors, CurrentTimeZone, DaylightInEffect            
    }# End 

# This section calls the function #
    Get-MachineInfo

Profile photo of Don Jones
    Don Jones
    Keymaster
    function Foo {
      $computers = 'one','two','three'
      foreach ($computer in $computers) {
        Get-MachineInfo $computer
      }
    }

Foo | Export-CSV whatever.csv

This'll take a while for a long list, because the computers are going to be contacted sequentially via WMI. Not much you can do about that, really, except drastically modify your approach perhaps.

Alternately, just don't do this in a function. Create your list of computer names in a text file named computers.txt, listing one computer name per line. Then:

get-wmiobject win32_computersystem -ComputerName (Get-Content computers.txt) |            
    select DNSHostName, Manufacturer, Model, SystemType ,