output while looping

Welcome Forums General PowerShell Q&A output while looping

Viewing 10 reply threads
  • Author
      Participant
      Topics: 1
      Replies: 9

hello,

I am a student at the present time doing IT Engineering. This is my first time in this industry. I am coming from a construction background and coming into IT is a great world, but I am as green as I can be. I love this world but is very challenging and I have been looking for mentoring but is soo hard to find. So, I come to you all for assistance.

At the present time I am doing Powershell and the information they give me is vague and challenging. I just finish Linux which I love and is very similar to Powershell. I get it but what I am having a bit of a challenge understanding how an output is generated.

for example I have this Loop statement I have to output, but I don't understand how to do it. May anyone assist me please and thnk you: this is the example:

Do {

if($I -lt 10)

{new-item -path C: -name $strprefix$intpad$i -type directory}

else

{new-item -path C: -name $strprefix$i -type directory}

then they tell me to, "set $i to increment by 1" they want me to close the stamen with this }  then to end the loop

Until ($i -eq intfolders +1)

ok so that is all the loop exercise. how do I make this loop work? this is where I am stuck. please assist me on how to make this work. thank you.

Participant

I solved the issue. I needed to set up my variables first, then on my closing I needed to add the $ on the ($i -eq intfolders +1) syntax to complete the loop. Thank you guys.

Participant
      Topics: 9
      Replies: 1277
      Helping Hand

A more traditional $i loop is using for, like so:

for ( $i=0;$i -le 10;$i++ ) {
          New-Item -Path "C:\Scripts\Temp$i.txt" -ItemType File -Force
      }

Directory: C:\Scripts