m3u file reading script question

This topic contains 1 reply, has 2 voices, and was last updated by Profile photo of Richard Diphoorn Richard Diphoorn 7 months, 3 weeks ago.

• Author
    Profile photo of Trent Perez
    Trent Perez
    Participant

I am new to powershell and am still learning all the commands available and how they work. My major problem is that I am not an admin for any large network I am just a single computer user trying to write scripts for myself and some friends who do quite a bit of work with music files and need to be able to copy groups of files from one drive to another by selecting them from a playlist in m3u format. I have a working script that does it from the command line but it's klunky and I know it will intimidate my less techie friends. So I am trying to add a GUI using powershell studio but I just bought the program and am still learnign how to use that also. So far I havbe a firm built that gets the playlist folder from the user and then let's them sekect a single file from the playlist folder. Then it reads the file and extracts the song titles from that m3u file and copies the files to a destination directory also chosen by the user. At least that is the plan. But I am unsure about converting my script into the form I have built. What do I need to send out in this question in order to get some ideas on how to go about this? Do I need a picture of my form? my original script? What do I need to send out so others can understand what I am working with. Please let me know what people need to see to understand my question and give me some help creating a working GUI interface for my script.

Profile photo of Richard Diphoorn
    Richard Diphoorn
    Participant

So if I interpret your question right, you're asking how to get help. 🙂

First, I had a hard time digesting your story; use paragraphs please.