Managing Office documents with Powershell

This topic contains 5 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by Profile photo of Andrea Gaviraghi Andrea Gaviraghi 8 months, 2 weeks ago.

• Author
    Profile photo of Andrea Gaviraghi
    Andrea Gaviraghi
    Participant

Hi all,
    I'm very new to PowerShell, so I appreciate any help you guys can give me.
    I would like to get documents that are already open and then forcing them to save (or even better to save them into another directory, let's say Desktop\LastRecovered\).

I'm searching since 2 days but no success.
    Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Andrea

Profile photo of Matt Bloomfield
    Matt Bloomfield
    Participant

You can handle this using the COM objects. Usually you would do this by creating a new COM object:

$MSword = New-Object -ComObject Word.Application

However, that will start a new instance of the application and you won't see any documents that are already open. What you'll need to do is bind to the existing application instance instead.

Here's some example code for Word which should point you in the right direction:

$MSword = [Runtime.Interopservices.Marshal]::GetActiveObject('Word.Application')

$documents = $MSword.Documents

foreach ($document in $documents) {

$document.SaveAs("F:\__temp\a\$($document.name)")
        $document.Close()

}

Credit to this post on Stack Overflow for demonstrating how to bind to an existing instance of an application.

Andrea Gaviraghi
    Participant

Hello,
    thank you very much.
    I'll start working on this.

Best regards,

Andrea

Andrea Gaviraghi
    Participant

Hello,
    I'm playing around with Powershell, trying to achieve my goal...obviously I have some problems.
    First of all I really don't understand why if I open 4 Word 2010 docs, these code returns only 2 docs..

$msword = [Runtime.Interopservices.Marshal]::GetActiveObject('Word.Application')
    $msword.documents | select Name

Name
    —-