Modifying AD Attibutes having Extended Schema

This topic contains 0 replies, has 1 voice, and was last updated by Profile photo of Forums Archives Forums Archives 5 years, 6 months ago.

• Author

by aubrytj at 2012-10-14 16:37:05

Stuck on how to modify an extended schema attribute(s).
    Would appreciate any help – I'm still new with PowerShell – yet have learned a lot each time I venture.

Would like to loop through each Windows XP workstation and update a selective field(s) that is now part of an extended schema?

I am able to update the fields manually using ADSI Attribute Editor....yet this would be a bit cumbersome since their are many workstations....and to possibly run on scheduled task for each new workstation that gets created.

The extended schema fields in question needs a defined contant value:
    dcloc-xssip = 'USB'
    dcloc-location = 'WesternState'

Currently have the following that does give the results for only "Windows XP" workstations – since I did not want to include servers when executed.

Get-QADComputer -IncludeAllProperties -ComputerRole Member -SizeLimit 0 -OSName 'Windows XP*' | Format-Table -Property computername, osname, osversion, description, dcloc-xssip, dcloc-location

Could it be something like:
    Get-QADComputer -IncludeAllProperties -ComputerRole Member -SizeLimit 0 -OSName 'Windows XP*' | Format-Table -Property computername, osname, osversion, description, dcloc-xssip, dcloc-location | set-qadcomputer -dcloc-xssip 'USB', -dcloc-location 'WesternState'

Don't believe this would work since a positional parameter cannot be found that accepts argument for 'USB'.

Any idea's would again be most appreciated..

Thanks,

Ted

by Klaas at 2012-10-15 01:47:38

Have you tried without the 'Format-Table'?
    This cmdlet writes output to the screen so there are no objects left to pipe to set-qadcomputer.
    I think it will work if you pipe the results from 'Get-QADComputer' directly to 'Set-QADComputer'.