Need help on sending emails to inactive users

Welcome Forums General PowerShell Q&A Need help on sending emails to inactive users

• This topic has 5 replies, 3 voices, and was last updated 1 month ago by
    Participant
Viewing 5 reply threads
  • Author
      Participant
      Topics: 2
      Replies: 5

Hi Guys,

I’m trying to send email to inactive users in my organization. I’m new to PowerShell, so need your help. I was able to reuse the script to pull out the users with an email attribute who didn’t log in for 45 days and I managed to create the script for sending emails. It is perfectly working.

Now I need to pass the mail attribute output to a variable and use that variable to send emails.

And I noticed few users don’t have an email attribute, so I want to notify their mangers.

When I run the below command, I’m getting the output of the manager name in distinguished format (“CN=Mamilla\, Sampath,OU=LS Users,DC=Contoso,DC=COM”). I’m trying to fetch the manager  SAMaccountname and email address.

I did the below customization it didn’t work.

Need your help.

————–email script—————————————————-

• This topic was modified 1 month ago by grokkit. Reason: code formatting - please read the guide
      Participant
      Topics: 16
      Replies: 1794
      Helping Hand

One option is to write that logic into an EmailTo with a calculated property:

Still would be wise to wrap an if around that mail send if ($_.EmailTo) {… as a manager could be null.

Participant

Participant

Thanks everyone!

Participant
      Topics: 25
      Replies: 197
      Helping Hand

Just a logic point, not an issue with your script. But if your users aren’t logging on, how do you expect them to recieve/read email?

might want to send to the manager and cc the user to ensure it gets visibility 🙂

Participant

Hi David,

I thought about it. That’s the reason I also want to pull out the manager email address.